Li Chin Sung 李劲松 - Past / Tzadik / CD

  • Sold Out
  • Avantgarde
  • Electronic
  • Experimental
  • Field recording
  1. Grandfather, Pt. 1 (Tin Ma Mountains)
  2. Garden
  3. Point of Death
  4. Dream On
  5. Give Up
  6. Known
  7. Treasure
  8. Speed Game
  9. Buddha
  10. Mad Birds
  11. East. West
  12. D the Blue (Renew)
  13. Suffocation
  14. Shame
  15. Wake Up and Death
  16. Grandfather, Pt. 3 (Peace of Mine)
  17. Run
  18. Ear Games
  19. Grandfather, Pt. 4 (See Off)
  20. Yin, Pt. 1
  21. Grandfather, Pt. 2 (Driver Away the Thief)
Ah Chuen : Voice
Li Chin Sung : Percussion, Guitar, CD, Synthesizer, Voice, Tapes

Producer : Li Chin Sung
Executive Producer : John Zorn

The Tzadik Composer Series continues to uncover young and unheard talent from all corners of the globe. John Zorn and Yamatsaka Eye's 1995 visit to Hong Kong and mainland China will not soon be forgotten by either the guests or the hosts... on of the highlights of this trip was the discovery of Li Chin Sung.

Sung's debut album, a collection of his works from 1992 to 1995, was never intended for commercial release. The subject matter of his work is deeply personal, dealing with the people and things around him, especially his family and friends, and as such does not always obey traditional musical logic.

Past presents intriguing and personal ambient/noise/environmental works by this adventurous young Hong Kong composer. Inspired by influences as diverse as Brit-pop, Luc Ferrari and Taoism, Sung has created a unique sound world that is both perplexing and seductive.